Find out what kind of competition Caribbean Premier League is and when it usually starts. Learn about the different teams which play under the league.

One side of cricket stadium

The Caribbean Premier League (CPL or CPLT20) is the highest premier cricket league in the Caribbean. It’s in the Twenty20 cricket format and was established in 2013. It replaced the former Twenty20 sports league in the country which was the Caribbean Twenty20 league. It is administered by Cricket West Indies (CWI).

Cricket West Indies

Cricket West Indies (CWI) is the governing body of cricket in the West Indies. It was originally known as West Indies Cricket Board of Control until it changed its name into West Indies Cricket Board in 1996. Eventually it changed its name into Cricket West Indies in 2015.

CWI is a full member of the International Cricket Council (ICC) since 1926. It organizes domestic games, Test matches, and One Day International (ODI) matches. Its most popular matches in the domestic region are the Regional Four Day Competition and Regional Super50.

CPL is also known as Hero CPL because it is sponsored by Hero MotoCorp. It also has various venues for its games. These venues are the following:

  • Sabina Park - Accommodates 20,000 people
  • Warner Park - Accommodates 8,000 people
  • Darren Sammy Stadium - Accommodates 15,000 people
  • Central Broward Regional Park - Accommodates 20,000 people
  • Queen’s Park Oval - Accommodates 20,000 people
  • Brian Lara Stadium - Accommodates 15,000 people
  • Kensington Oval - Accommodates 28,000 people
  • Providence Stadium - Accommodates 15,000 people


CPL has six teams playing under it. These six teams are the following: Barbados Tridents, Guyana Amazon Warriors, Jamaica Tallawahs, St. Kitts and Nevis Patriots, St. Lucia Stars, Trinbago Knight Riders

Barbados Tridents

The Barbados Tridents is one of the six original teams of CPL. It was created in 2013 and has since then won 1 CPL Championship game in 2014 season. It is owned by Vijay Mallya and its home ground is Kensington Oval which could seat approximately 28,000 people.

The actor Mark Wahlberg has an equity interest in this team since 2013. He was introduced to it by his friend Ajmal Khan who was the team’s chairman and the architect for CPL.

Guyana Amazon Warriors

Guyana Amazon Warriors is one of the original six teams playing for CPL. It has appeared in four out of six CPL finals but unfortunately has not won once. Its home ground is Providence Stadium.

Jamaica Tallawahs

Jamaica Tallawahs is also one of the original six teams playing under CPL. It was founded in 2013. Their home grounds are Sabina Park and Central Broward Regional Park. Actor Gerard Butler has an equity interest in this franchise.

It is one of the most successful teams in CPL. They won 2013 and 2016 Championship titles. Additionally they are the only franchise in the league which has used 11 local players for its match in 2013.

St. Kitts and Nevis Patriots

St. Kitts and Nevis Patriots has only started playing in CPL when it was established in 2015. It replaced previous team Antigua Hawkbills. As of yet, the Patriots has not won a CPL Championship title.

St. Lucia Stars

St. Lucia Stars is one of the original six teams which plays in CPL. It was formerly known as St. Lucia Zouks before they changed their name into what it is now in 2017. Its home ground is Darren Sammy Stadium which could seat approximately 15,000 people.

As of now, St. Lucia Stars has not won a CPL Championship tournament. Their best record was in 2016 season when they won 6 out of 10 games in the league and were ranked third in it.

Trinbago Knight Riders

Trinbago Knight Riders is one of the original six teams playing under CPL. It was established in 2013 with the name The Red Steel. It was later changed into Trinbago Knight Riders after a change of ownership. It is owned by Red Chillies Entertainment which is the parent company of Indian Premier League (IPL) Kolkata Knight Riders.

It is the most successful franchise in the league as it won 3 Championship titles already. They dominated seasons 2015, 2017, and 2018.

Tournament Format

CPL’s tournament format is divided into league and playoffs. In the league season, the game is divided into a group stage and a knockout stage. The teams play ten matches overall in the group stage wherein three matches are held at home ground. This is done because the teams are located at a single playing site for five matches in the tournament.
After the group stage is done, the successful teams will proceed into succeeding five matches. The venues for the league will be used here. After this is done, the teams who won the previous matches will proceed to the playoffs which will determine the winner of the CPL Championship.

Find the best cricket league and matches odds for you at Betwala.

You may also like

New Balance vs Kookaburra Cricket Shoes

Top manufacturers of cricket materials. A. New Balance Full Spike CK4040W3 High Impact Cricket Shoes

What is a Casino Price Boost?

Find out what is the casino price boost and how you can use it. Know the best online casino sites where you can ...

Using Debit/Credit Card at Online Casinos

Find out how to make a debit card deposit and a credit card deposit. Know the difference between a debit card an...

SG vs BAS Elbow Guards

Two inexpensive elbow guards, two different styles. A. SG Super Test Elbow Guard

Online Casino Table Games

Learn how different table games you can find in online casinos work. Find out how you can play them and where yo...

Using SticPay Deposit at Online Casinos

Find out how to use SticPay deposit at online casinos. Know the best online casinos to make a SticPay deposit. ...

Adidas vs Kookaburra Cricket Shoes

The top-tier brand versus the long-time cricket equipment provider. A. Adidas Men's Cricket CRI HASE Shoes (201...

Why You Should Wager with Real Money

Find out why you should use real money as you wager on sports betting sites. Know its advantages, disadvantages,...

SG vs KD Cricket Helmet

Two fairly priced cricket helmets at affordable prices. A. SG Aerotech Cricket Helmet