Learn what Pakistan Super League is and the format of the competition. Find out the different teams that play in the league and awards of the tournament.

cricket stadium in pakistan super league

Pakistan Super League (PSL) is a professional Twenty20 cricket league that was established in 2015. It is one of the highest professional sports league for cricket in the country. It originally had 5 teams in the league until a sixth team was added in 2018. The teams are individually owned and controlled by investors.

It had a high profit of $2.6 million in its first season as released by the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB).

Pakistan Cricket Board

The Pakistan Cricket Board owns and fully controls PSL. It also handles and manages all tours and matches of Pakistan National Cricket team. The board was established in 1949 immediately after Pakistan was declared an independent dominion from the British Empire. PSL matches are usually held in United Arab Emirates (UAE) with the last few matches occurring in Pakistan.

It is fully sponsored by Habib Bank Limited (HBL) which is the largest bank by assets in Pakistan. A three year contract (2016-2018) was originally signed for $5 million per signed year. This contract was renewed for another three (2019-2021) years with the sponsorship being raised to $14.3 million per signed year.

Famous Players of Pakistan Super League

ravi bopara famous pakistan super league cricketer

Since PSL has been established, there has been many professional athletes that showed their skills and wit in the sport. Players who made the most impact in their match or entire series are named Man of the Match or Match and Player of the Series. These people are: Ravi Bopara, Kamran Akmal, Luke Ronchi, and Shane Watson.

Ravi Bopara

Ravi Bopara who plays for Karachi Kings won player of the series award. He was awarded in the first season of PSL.

Kamran Akmal

Kamran Akmal who plays for Peshawar Zalmi was awarded player of the series during season two of PSL.

Luke Ronchi

Player for Islamabad United Luke Ronchi won player of the series award in season three of PSL.

Shane Watson

Shane Watson is a player for Quetta Gladiators who won player of the series award in season four of PSL.

Countries that Broadcast Pakistan Super League

Watching your favorite Pakistan Super League cricket matches are now easier with the huge number of countries it is broadcasted from. Here are the countries where you can watch the game in their respected networks: 

  • Pakistan
  • Afghanistan
  • Australia
  • Bangladesh
  • Canada
  • Caribbean
  • Europe
  • India
  • Kenya
  • Middle East
  • North Africa
  • New Zealand,
  • South Africa
  • Sri Lanka
  • United Kingdom
  • United Arab Emirates
  • United States
  • Zimbabwe
  • World Internet Rights

Teams in Pakistan Super League

pakistan super league team logos

The teams that are part of the league are: Islamabad United, Karachi Kings, Lahore Qalandars, Multan Sultans, Peshawar Zalmi, and Quetta Gladiators.

Islamabad United

Islamabad United (IU) is one of the first five original teams in PSL. It is the most successful team in the league as it has the most titles.. It has 2 titles when it won the championship in the first and third season. They have the second highest success rate of winning with 57.95%.

Karachi Kings

Karachi Kings is the second most expensive franchise in the league as it was sold for $26 million to ARY Media Group. It has the fourth highest success rate of winning with 42.68%. It has achieved third place in the second and third season of PSL.

Lahore Qalandars

Lahore Qalandars (LQ) is the third most expensive franchise as it was sold for $25.1 million for ten years. It is one of the few teams sold to an international company.

LQ finished in the last spot of the points table in the last four seasons of PSL. It has a success rate of winning with 30.55%. It has already played 36 matches where they won 10 of them and lost 24 matches.

Multan Sultans

Multan Sultans is the newest team in the league with it joining in 2018. It is the most expensive franchise in the league because it was sold for $41.6 million with a contract of 8 years.

It has a 36.84% success rate of winning. It had played 20 matches with it winning 7 and losing 12. Its leading run-scorer is Shoaib Malik while its leading wicket-taker is Junaid Khan.

Peshawar Zalmi

Peshawar Zalmi is the PSL league champion in season 2 with 20 overs. It won with a winning margin of 58 runs against Quetta Gladiators. In the same year their leading run-scorer Kamran “Pocket Rocket” Akmal was awarded player of the tournament.

Quetta Gladiators

Quetta Gladiators is the fourth season league champion with 17.5 overs. They won with 8 wickets more than Peshawar Zalmi. Their player Shane Watson was awarded player of the tournament in the same year.

They have a 61.90% success rate of winning. They have already played 43 matches where they won 26 matches and lost 16. 

Tournament Format of Pakistan Super League

Pakistan Super League season occurs every February to March where teams play double round robin in the league section. The top four teams who performs well will qualify for playoffs. Teams who will pass in playoffs will compete in the PSL Cup Final.

Awards in the Pakistan Super League

There are various awards besides the tournament trophy and championship title that are awarded to players of the season. These are the other awards you can get in Pakistan Super League:

Hanif Mohammad

The Hanif Mohammad award and a green cap is awarded to the leading run-scorer of the season. This is an ongoing competition where the player with the best run-score wears the cap throughout the game and gets the cap after the final game.

Fazal Mahmood

The Fazal Mahmood award and a maroon cap is awarded to the leading wicket-taker of the season. This is an ongoing competition where the player with the best run-score wears the cap throughout the game and gets the cap after the final game.

Imtiaz Ahmed

The Imtiaz Ahmed award is award to the best wicket-keeper of the season.

Where to Bet?

You can check out the best sports betting sites in the industry with the comprehensive reviews that Betwala has.

You may also like

Future Matches Betting Explained

Learn why betting on future matches is necessary to make your life easier. Find out where to go to bet on future...

SG vs Shrey Cricket Helmet

Two similarly priced helmets, two different styles of protection. A. SG Aerotech Cricket Helmet

What is the ICC Cricket World Cup?

Learn about the Cricket World Cup and which teams are playing in the 2019 tournament. Find out the awards and fo...

Spartan vs Kookaburra Cricket Bats

The Spartan MSD-Warrior and the Kookaburra Ghost 300: two fairly priced bats for the choosy yet limited buyer. ...

What are Casino Free Spins?

Find out what are casino free spins and the different kinds of free spins bonuses. Know the best online casinos ...

SG vs Klapp Cricket Helmet

Both fairly padded and highly-protective cricket helmets. A. SG Aerotech Cricket Helmet  

CE vs CW Cricket Wicket

Two invaluable wickets that are definitely worth their price. A. CW Professional Cricket Match Wicket Set

New Balance vs Adidas Cricket Shoes

The battle of the cricket-shoes god brands. A.  new balance Men's Cricket Shoes

What is a Casino Welcome Bonus?

Find out what is the casino welcome bonus and its advantages. Know the best online casino sites you can use a we...