Asghar Afghan Reappointed as Afghanistan Captain

Asghar Afghan Reappointed as Afghanistan Captain

Asghar Afghan Reappointed as Afghanistan Captain

He was sacked unceremoniously ahead of the World Cup earlier this year.

The leader role has been tossed and passed around a lot within the Afghanistan team lately. The most recent captain, Asghar Afghan, was stripped of the title last April, two months before the start of the ICC 2019 World Cup which was held in England and Wales. The decision was met with heavy criticism from fans and players alike.

Afghan took over the reins from Mohammad Nabi following a successful 205 World Cup where they defeated Scotland. Afghan had a highly reputable team at his command. They achieved many great things, including their first Test match against India and first Test win against Ireland.

But for whatever reason, the Afghanistan Cricket Board removed him and replaced him with Gulbadin Naib as the ODI captain, Rahmat Shah as the Test captain, and Rashid Khan as the T20 captain. Mohammad Nabi and Rashid Khan said that the move wasn’t just. They also criticised the board officials for making a hasty decision before an important tournament.

Under the respective format-captains, Afghanistan didn’t fare any better. Under Gulbadin Naib, they lost all nine of their World Cup matches, with a heavy emphasis on the loss to Pakistan since they should have won that match easily. After their disastrous campaign, the ACB appointed Rashid Khan as the captain in all formats. He then led them to a win over Bangladesh in a Test match.

He also helped Afghanistan beat the West Indies in their recent T20I series. But in just a few short months, the ACB has overturned their decision and reappointed Asghar Afghan as the captain in all three formats. The board confirmed this on their Twitter account. They also took the time to clear the mess made by the ACB.

Afghanistan’s next match is scheduled to take place on October 2020 which will be part of the T20 World Cup. To find out more about Afghanistan’s matches, visit Betwala’s page.

READ MORE: Cricket Odds