Director of Cricket Not Concerned About Extra Run

Director of Cricket Not Concerned About Extra Run

Director of Cricket Not Concerned About Extra Run

The decision by umpires to award six instead of five is not a problem.

England director of cricket Ashley Giles said that he wasn’t concerned about former lead umpire Simon Taufel’s comments about mistakenly giving England six runs instead of five, and Adil Rashid should have been the one to bat the second to the last ball instead of Stokes.

This happened when a throw from the outfield to the wicket-keeper hit Stokes’ bat as he dove for the crease, making the ball reach the boundary. This was, as pointed out, the reason why the regulation match ended in a draw and prompted a Super Over. However, even the Super Over ended in a draw, but because England had scored more boundaries during the duration of the game, they won the tournament.

Former lead umpire Simon Taufel said that there was “a clear mistake,” as he batsmen had not crossed for their second run when the ball was thrown by the fielder. “They should have been awarded five runs, not six.”

When asked about this, Giles said that he “wasn’t really concerned.” He added that “you could argue that the last ball that Boult bowled was a full toss on leg stump and if Stokes hadn’t just been looking for two, he probably would’ve banged it out of the ground anyway… We are champions; we have got the trophy and we intend to keep it.”

New Zealand captain Kane Williamson said that “it was a shame that the ball hit Stokes’ bat… Unfortunately, that sort of thing happens from time to time. It’s a part of the game that we play.”

People had high hopes for England to win the world cup championship, and they did. Even bookmakers had high odds for England. To find out more about cricket odds, visit Betwala's page.

READ MORE: Cricket Odds