ECB Names 55-man Training Group

ECB Names 55-man Training Group

ECB Names 55-man Training Group

England released the names of their 55 players who will return to their training group. 

The England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) has dropped the names of their 55-man training group for their upcoming matches. Among which who had not been included in the list was Alex Hales who also failed to play since last summer’s World Cup.  

So far, the ECB hasn’t determined the formats of cricket where their players would play. The ECB also clarified that the 55 men in this training group still doesn’t serve as the official England part. Still, the main players for the English squad will come from these 55 selected players. 

The training will initially take place individually as safety principles like social distancing and hygiene measures will need to be observed. Some of those who had already resumed their individual training were the likes of Chris Woakes, James Anderson, and Stuart Broad. 

As per the ECB, ‘We will need to continue to work closely with our medical team and government to ensure that our return to training and play activities are in line with best-practice guidelines. We're also really grateful for the positive and collaborative response from our county colleagues who are doing a great job at facilitating coaching and support for the players. The fact that we can call on our network to support the national effort shows the strength of our system’. 

The ECB is the governing body of England and Wales which oversees everything which concerns their national team. Aside from that, they are also in charge of the T20 Blast League. To know more about this cricket league, head over to Betwala. 

READ MORE: What is the T20 Blast League?