English Cricket Board Announces 14-man Team

English Cricket Board Announces 14-man Team

English Cricket Board Announces 14-man Team

With only a few days left before The Ashes, the ECB names the players.

The much-anticipated Ashes series is around the corner. Both England and Australia are making final preparations for their clash at Edgbaston on August 1. Australia recently announced its team lineup with England soon after. Ben Stokes and Jos Buttler, who have been rested for the Ireland Test, have returned with Stokes as vice-captain.

The top three during the Ireland Test was retained with Jason Roy, Rory Burns, and Joe Denly. Olly Stone performed well during his Test debut and has been given a spot in the team. However, it is unsure yet if he will be included in the playing XI.

Selectors have also selected Jofra Archer, who will make his Test debut. James Anderson has also been included in the lineup and is expected to be fully recovered come the series opener. Sam Curran will also make his Ashes debut. He was one of the excellent performers in the Test against Ireland.

Here is the complete player list:

  • Joe Root (captain)
  • Moeen Ali
  • Jimmy Anderson
  • Jofra Archer
  • Jonny Bairstow
  • Stuart Broad
  • Rory Burns
  • Jos Buttler
  • Sam Curran
  • Joe Denly
  • Jason Roy
  • Ben Stokes (vice-captain)
  • Olly Stone
  • Chris Woakes

With the English Cricket Team set for The Ashes, final preparations are being made. England will look to add another title under their record while Australia will look to avenge their loss in the ICC Cricket World Cup. To find out more about the different cricket leagues, visit Betwala's site.

READ MORE: Cricket Leagues