First Indian to Play in Other Domestic Leagues

First Indian to Play in Other Domestic Leagues

First Indian to Play in Other Domestic Leagues

Irfan Pathan becomes the first Indian to be drafted in a domestic league outside his homebase, breaking BCCI’s strict rules on where their players can play.

Indian all-rounder Irfan Pathan is the first Indian cricket player drafted in Carribean Premier League (CPL), a domestic T20 league outside India. If Pathan gets picked in the draft, he will also be the first Indian to play in an overseas T20 league.

Pathan would need to give a No Objection Certificate to the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) if he plays for CPL. BCCI disallows their players to play in other domestic T20 leagues like Big Bash League (BBL), Bangladesh Premier League (BPL), and Pakistan Super League (PSL). However, the have not given a statement regarding Pathan’s status.

Pathan has not played in the Indian Premier League (IPL) since 2017 after his Gujarat team dissolved. The last domestic tournament he played was Syed Mushtaq Ali for Jammu and Kashmir early this year where he picked four wickets in five games.

CPL will have 536 players from 20 different countries in their auction. Players like Rashid Khan, Jofra Archer, Alex Hales, Shakib al Hasan, Sunil Narine, Andre Russell, JP Duminy, Shimron Hetmyer, and Shai Hope will be included.

“Prior to the draft, each franchise will have the option to retain and/or acquire a maximum of six players, although there is no obligation to do so,” announced CPL on its official website.

“The fact that so many players have registered for our draft is a testament to the stature of our league,” added CPL Tournament Operations Director Michael Hall. “Playing cricket in the Carribean is something that all players look forward to, and the CPL combines that allure with a high standard of cricket. We expect that this year’s tournament will be no different.”

The players’ draft for CPL will be held on May 22 in London, England. The tournament will be from September 4 to October 12.