IPL prize money over the years

IPL prize money over the years

IPL prize money over the years

The Indian Premier League garners a huge number of views through which it generates large revenue. It is thus not surprising that the team winning the title is awarded crores of rupees along with other incentives. Let’s find out how much money the winners of the IPL have been paid over the years.

2008 and 2019 – Shane Warne-led Rajasthan Royals won the inaugural edition of the IPL in 2008 after defeating Chennai Super Kings in the final. The champions were awarded a cash prize of Rs 4.8 crore, while the losing finalists received Rs 2.4 crore.

The prize money for the 2009 season remained unchanged. The now-defunct Deccan Chargers took home Rs 4.8 crore after defeating Royal Challengers in the final. The runners-up received Rs .24 crore.

2010 – The prize money saw an increase in the 2010 season which the Chennai Super Kings won after defeating the Mumbai Indians. Rs 10 crore was awarded to CSK, while the Mumbai-based team took home Rs 5 crore.

2011 to 2013 – The years 2011, 2012 and 2013 saw the prize money remain the same as in 2010. The winner took home Rs 10 crore, while the runners-up were awarded Rs 5 crore.

CSK defended their title in 2011 after defeating RCB in the final. The tournament got a new winner the next year in 2012 when Kolkata Knight Riders beat Chennai to grab the silverware. In 2013, Mumbai Indians won the first of their five titles after defeating arch-rivals CSK.

IPL 2014 & 2015 - The prize money was further increased to Rs 15 crore in IPL 2014 and 2015, which was won by the Knight Riders and Mumbai Indians, respectively. The losing finalists received Rs 10 crore, while the two semi-finalists took home Rs 7.5 crore each.

The Knights lifted the 2015 title after defeating Kings XI Punjab (now Punjab Kings) in the final. The 2016 final was contested by MI and CSK, with the former emerging victorious and winning their second title.

IPL 2016 & 2017 – With an increase in the tournament’s valuation each year, there was a constant increase in the prize money too. The cash reward was increased from Rs 15 crore in 2014 and 2015 to Rs 20 crore in 2016 and 2017. The losing finalists took home Rs 11 crore, while the two semi-finalists drew Rs 7.5 crore each.

Sunrisers Hyderabad emerged champions in 2016 after defeating RCB in the final, while the 2017 season was won by Mumbai Indians.

IPL 2018 & 2019 – While the cash reward for the winning team remained unchanged in 2018 and 2019 (Rs 20 crore), the runners-up received Rs 12.5 crore.

CSK won the 2018 season after getting the better of the Sunrisers in the showdown game, while the 2019 season belonged to Mumbai Indians, who outdid CSK in the final.

IPL 2020 – For the first time in the history of the IPL, the prize money took a downward curve. The coronavirus pandemic forced the BCCI to move the IPL to UAE in 2020, where the matches were played behind closed doors and thus no revenue was generated from the crowd. The prize money awarded to champions Mumbai Indians was Rs 10 crore, while runners-up Delhi Capitals received Rs. 6.25 crore.

IPL 2021 – The Rs 20 crore cash prize was back in 2021, when the first half of the IPL was played in India and the other half in the UAE. Eventual champions CSK pocketed Rs 20 crore, while runners-up KKR drew Rs 12.5 crore.