Kohli and Rahul are Expected to Join Asia XI's Match Series

Kohli and Rahul are Expected to Join Asia XI's Match Series

Kohli and Rahul are Expected to Join Asia XI's Match Series

The participation of Kohli and Rahul for the upcoming match series between Asia XI and World XI is yet to confirm.

Virat Kohli and KL Rahul are expected to play with Asia XI against World XI in two T20I matches organized by the Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB). The match is organized to celebrate the birth centenary of Sheikh Mujibur Rahman, Bangladesh’s founding father. 

However, Kohli and Rahul’s participation in the upcoming tournament is yet to confirm. On the other hand, Rishabh Pant, Kuldeep Yadav, Shikhar Dhawan, and Mohammed Shami are the Indian cricketers confirmed to join the squad.

‘We have already received four names from India. We haven't signed contracts but Rishabh Pant, Kuldeep Yadav, Shikhar Dhawan and Mohammad Shami are supposed to come. They have said KL Rahul and Virat Kohli will play one game each, but that hasn't been finalised’, Nazmul Hasan stated, the chief of BCB. 

Hasan also confirmed that other star players from Pakistan, Afghanistan, and Sri Lanka will join the squad. ‘As we have two matches we will try to mix and match Bangladesh players in those two games. Certainly, there will be Tamim and Mushfiqur, and we will also have Mahmudullah and Mustafizur. Also, we might have Liton Das’, Hasan added. 

Here are the tentative squads:

Asia XI: Virat Kohli (for one game only, subject to confirmation), KL Rahul (for one game only), Shikhar Dhawan, Rishabh Pant, Mohammed Shami, Kuldeep Yadav, Tamim Iqbal, Liton Das, Musfiqur Rahim, Mustafizur Rahman, Rashid Khan, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Sandeep Lamichhane, Mahmudullah, Thisara Perera, Lasith Malinga

World XI: Faf du Plessis, Alex Hales, Chris Gayle, Nicholas Pooran, Jonny Bairstow, Adil Rashid, Mitchell McClenaghan, Andrew Tye, Sheldon Cottrell, Lungi Ngidi, Kieron Pollard, Brendan Taylor

The match between the two teams is expected to begin from March 21 to 22 at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Dhaka. To learn more about T20I’s, check out Betwala’s page for more information. 

READ MORE: A Beginner’s Guide on How To Play Cricket