Nisarg Patel Suspended From Bowling in International Cricket

Nisarg Patel Suspended From Bowling in International Cricket

Nisarg Patel Suspended From Bowling in International Cricket

American cricketer Nisarg Patel had been banned from bowling in international cricket matches by the ICC after some illegal actions.

USA allrounder Nisarg Patel had been formally and immediately suspended to bowl in international cricket by the ICC after his actions didn't comply to the cricket rules. Patel was reported after USA’s match against Oman last February 11 which took place in Kathmandu. In that game. The 31-year-old player was able to bowl seven overs in the game which ended up with figures of none for 37. 

The situation had been carefully assessed by the ICC Expert Panel who had concluded that Patel’s left-hand bowling action was, as per clause 4.7 of the ICC’s illegal bowling regulations, above the 15° level of tolerance permitted in the ICC’s rules. 

The suspension will take place instantly and according to the ICC, shall remain in place until Patel undertakes a review of his action by an Expert Panel or until after he submits an independent assessment of his action that is to be accredited in an ICC testing centre. In short, he should confirm that he can bowl without using any illegal action. 

Despite being banned to bowl in an international match, it is still possible for Patel to play cricket as a batsman. 

The ICC sets the professional standards for international cricket matches just like how they did with Nisarg Patel. To know more about the highest governing body of cricket as well as the World Cup that they organize, head over to Betwala. 

READ MORE: What is the ICC Cricket World Cup