PCB Shows Pakistan Central Contracts for 2019-2020 Season

PCB Shows Pakistan Central Contracts for 2019-2020 Season

PCB Shows Pakistan Central Contracts for 2019-2020 Season

The list of players who are going to play for the upcoming and future have been released.

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has released the list of players with central contracts for the 2019-2020 season. The contracts run from August 1, 2019, to June 30, 2020, during which the Men’s cricket team is to play in six World Test Championship matches, three ODIs, and nine T20Is. 

There were originally 33 players, but now only 19 remain. The players selected were based on their performance and fitness over the last year. The formats these players played in are most likely going to be taken into consideration before finalizing the list. Both Mohammed Hafeez and Shoaib Malik, who is nearing retirement, didn’t get a contract but are available for selection. 

Different categories have different salaries: category A players will be paid more than ₹0.8M, category B players will be paid approximately ₹0.5M, while category C players will be paid ₹0.35M.

“I want to congratulate all those who have been offered central contracts for the next season. We have significantly increased the financial value of the 2019-20 retainers across each category. This is over and above what had been agreed in the current agreement, which is due to run until 2021,” said PCB Managing Director Wasim Khan.

“The PCB have set high standards and targets in its strategic plan for the upcoming season. We want to attach a high value to receiving a central contract. We have complete faith and confidence that these players will set-up and produce on-field performances that will help us collectively achieve our objectives and targets.”

Here are the categories:

Category A – Babar Azam, Sarfaraz Ahmed, and Yasir Shah.

Category B – Asad Shafiq, Azhar Ali, Haris Sohail, Imam-ul-Haq, Mohammad Abbas, Shadab Khan, Shaheen Shah Afridi, and Wahab Riaz.

Category C – Abid Ali, Hasan Ali, Fakhar Zaman, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Rizwan, Shan Masood, and Usman Shinwari.

The players that will eventually be selected will play in numerous tournaments spanning different formats. To find out about the different cricket formats, visit Betwala’s page.

READ MORE: A Beginner's Guide on How to Play Cricket