Taufel Said England Was Given Extra Run in Finals

Taufel Said England Was Given Extra Run in Finals

Taufel Said England Was Given Extra Run in Finals

Former umpire said World Cup umpires gave an extra run to England

Former umpire Simon Taufel said ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 umpires made a mistake by giving an extra run in the finals to current champions England.

“They should have been awarded five runs, not six,” said Taufel in an interview with Fox Sports Australia.

Taufel continued that England’s spin bowler Adil Rashid should have faced the second last ball and not fast bowler Ben Stokes. However, Taufel believes mistakes often happen in games even in international competitions.

“Unfortunately, that sort of thing happens from time to time. It's a part of the game that we play,” stated Taufel. “I don't wish to nitpick, just hope it never happens in such moments ever again."

England’s next tournament is the Test Ashes series against Australia that will begin on August 1 at Edgbaston Cricket Ground. England currently have -133 odds to win the competition while Australia have +170 odds.

If you want to know one of the best sports betting sites in the industry to wager on this, check out Betwala’s thorough review on Sportsbet.io.

READ MORE: Sportsbet.io Review