Virat Kohli Continues Tradition

Virat Kohli Continues Tradition

Virat Kohli Continues Tradition

Kohli hands over the champions trophy to uncapped wicketkeeper KS Bharat.

Team India continued their dominant performance with their win over Bangladesh in their first day/night match. The match didn’t last long due to the excellent performance of India’s bowlers. In the third day of the series, it was all about the innings it would take for the Indian bowlers to end the match. It didn’t take long since Bangladesh was bowled out for only 195 runs.

Once Mushfiqur Rahim was out and Mahmudullah was declared unfit to play in the match, the match then became a question of who would take five wickets: Umesh Yadav or Ishant Sharma? In the end, it would be Yadav who would go on to claim his fifth over and extend the lead by an innings and 46 runs.

Ishant Sharma was named as the ‘Player of the Match’ and ‘Player of the Series’. However, the moment that stood out the most was when Virat Kohli gave the winner’s trophy to KS Bharat. It has been a tradition to give the youngest member the trophy, allowing him to take the spotlight. It was a tradition that started with MS Dhoni and was continued by Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma.

Thanks to their latest win, they also became the first team to win four Test matches by an innings. It was their seventh consecutive win at home which is also the most for any team representing its country. This means that India will end the year undefeated. They will also end the decade as the most successful home team.

The Test match is the longest format in the sport of cricket. To find out more about this and the different formats, visit Betwala’s page.

READ MORE: What is the Indian Premier League?