BCB Announced Squad For Sri Lanka Tour

BCB Announced Squad For Sri Lanka Tour

BCB Announced Squad For Sri Lanka Tour

BCB announced fourteenth man squad for Sri Lanka ODI series tour

The Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) announced their squad on Tuesday for their upcoming one-day international (ODI) series against Sri Lanka. BCB officials said that they removed all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan and batsman Liton Das from the team to let them rest after the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019.

Left-arm spinner Taijul Islam and batsman Anam Haque were called to replace Al Hasan and Das.

BCB official and former Bangladesh captain Minhajul Abedin Nannu said the upcoming series against Sri Lanka is important since the World Cup is over.

“Now that the World Cup chapter is over and we are starting a new season. This series is very important for us,” said Nannu. “We didn't make big changes from the World Cup squad here. As we don't have Shakib and Liton, we included two players in their places and dropped one player.”

The current squad for the series are the following:

  • Captain Mashrafe Mortaza

  • Tamim Iqbal

  • Soumya Sarker

  • Anamul Haque

  • Mohammad Mithun

  • Mushfiqur Rahim

  • Mahmudullah Riyad

  • Mosaddek Hossain

  • Sabbir Rahman

  • Mehidy Hasan

  • Taijul Islam

  • Rubel Hossain

  • Mohammad Saifuddin

  • Mustafizur Rahman

The ODI series will begin on July 26 at R. Premadasa Stadium in Sri Lanka.

If you want to know other big cricket leagues in Bangladesh, check out Betwala’s article on the Bangladesh Premier League.

READ MORE: What is the Bangladesh Premier League?